top of page
Search
  • Iggy Shuler

2/15/20

In my poetry workshop, we are focusing on haiku, and short forms. The simple, evocative nature of the image has stood out to me. How one object, described in a few precise words, may cut to the heart of the thing at hand. How so much can live inside one image. In poetry, I so often have the tendency to create sprawling, out of control work. Of course, long poems have their place, and I love them. But more and more, I am beginning to consider that sometimes, squawking on and on is not the best thing for a poem, not the most effective thing. I'm becoming convinced that the virtue of haiku, and short poems in general, is their ability to capture the moment. Just like a single memory, a single moment of poetry should be enough to turn over and over in your mind forever, so full of potential and overflowing with meaning that it can satisfy your thoughts completely without needing very many words at all. Haiku recognizes that language fails us, so often, and relies instead on gesture to the world itself.

14 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

3/8/20

To make up for the tardiness of this post and last week's, this will come in two parts. PART ONE: GAY TERROR Last weekend, my roommates and I went to a queer dance party called Gay Terror. The event i

2/22/20

Since I have to write something this week, and I'm not one for making up stories, I'll just go ahead and tell you, this one's going to be massively boring. I'm having a great time, but the most exciti

2/7/20

This week, snow fell on Missoula again, and I took a job on a cleaning crew up at school. Consider: there are many ways of staying warm. One is exercise, e.g., pushing a vacuum up and down the library

bottom of page