top of page
Search
  • Iggy Shuler

1/27/20

I've met more non-binary people in the few weeks that I've lived here in Montana than I did in all my 19 years in South Carolina. Back home, it was a rare and joyous occasion when someone used the right pronouns for me. Here, it's a complete non-issue. I haven't once felt weird or gross or out of place for my queerness. In South Carolina, the experience of queerness is defined by othering and difficulty. Here, I feel that I doubly benefit from the opportunity to make queerness a part of my identity from the outset in new relationships, but also, from a culture where queerness is not necessarily universally accepted, but certainly normalized.

21 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

3/8/20

To make up for the tardiness of this post and last week's, this will come in two parts. PART ONE: GAY TERROR Last weekend, my roommates and I went to a queer dance party called Gay Terror. The event i

2/22/20

Since I have to write something this week, and I'm not one for making up stories, I'll just go ahead and tell you, this one's going to be massively boring. I'm having a great time, but the most exciti

2/15/20

In my poetry workshop, we are focusing on haiku, and short forms. The simple, evocative nature of the image has stood out to me. How one object, described in a few precise words, may cut to the heart

bottom of page